Monday, February 27, 2012

Don't Let Your Online Past Poison Your Offline Future

Like many others, you gave little or no thought to Google's updated policy notice and/or clicked “Dismiss” because who wants to read all that fine print, right?

Besides, you aren’t doing anything illegal or unethical online, so what’s the big deal? They’re just creating one policy that covers all their services. What’s the harm? INDEED!

Daily Mail reports that deleting your browsing history before March 1 when Google's new privacy policy comes into effect will limit Google's ability to track and record your every move online. The process is simple.

DO NOT HESITATE! DO THIS NOW!

Follow the steps below:
1. Go to the google homepage and sign into your account.
2. Click the dropdown menu next to your name in the upper-right hand corner of your screen.
3. Click accounts settings
4. Find the "Services section"
5. Under "Services" there is a sub-section that reads "View, enable, disable web history." Click the link next to it that reads: "Go to Web History."
6. Click on "Remove all Web History"
When you click on "Remove all Web History," a message appears that says " Web History is Paused." What this means is that while Google will continue gathering and storing information about your web history it will make all data anonymous, that is, Google will not associate your Web History information with your online accounts and will therefore be unable to send you customized search results.
Google's ability to gather personalized information about you by assigning data to your Gmail and YouTube accounts will remain "Paused" till you click "Resume."


[Source]

Tags: ,

Print this pagePRINT THIS POST

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

And if you are in dire straits, there are sites like reputation.com that can help you scrub the web of your sins!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Web Analytics