This showed up on my fb: "Dave—In a few days, we'll be removing an old Facebook setting called "Who can look up your Timeline by name." We'd like to help you understand this change. Learn more."
I took the bait and clicked on "learn more."
This popped up:
What did this setting do?
"Who can look up your Timeline by name" controlled who could find your Timeline by typing your name in search.
What will happen when the setting is removed?
Anyone will be able to look up your Timeline by your name—but if they go to your Timeline, they'll only see what they already have permission to see. Removing this setting doesn't change who can see your photos, status updates or other things you've shared.
Why is Facebook removing this setting?
When we created this setting, the only way to find you on Facebook was to search for your specific name. Now, people can come across your Timeline in other ways: for example if a friend tags you in a photo, which links to your Timeline, or if people search for phrases like "People who like The Beatles," or "People who live in Seattle," in Graph Search.
Today, the best way to manage who sees your stuff is to use your Privacy Shortcuts (just click the at the top of every page of the Facebook website), and to choose who to share with when you post new photos and updates.
You'll have more chances to review this info before the setting is removed—we'll remind you on Facebook.
Oh, joy. I can hardly wait...